questions & answers
Question: How can I defend myself professionally on a Summons that was delivered to me?It states on there I have within 20 days to defend myself. And its states that i pay for the filing fee. Do I have to pay it?
Answer: If a civil lawsuit has been filed against you in the state of Arizona, you will likely be served with (at least) a Summons and Complaint. If you are served with a complaint and are living in Arizona, you typically have twenty days to respond/ file your answer. If you are a resident of Maricopa County and would like to file an answer the form required in this matter may be located on the court website. If you are not a resident of Maricopa County, most courts in Arizona have "answer" forms and instructions available to the public. It is recommended that you check with the court specific to your situation to see what is available as each court may have specific rules and preferences. According to the Complaint Answer form a filing fee must be paid at the time your answer is filed. The preceding information is provided as general references only; to find out how the law applies to a specific situation, contact an attorney directly.
How can I defend myself professionally on a Summons that was delivered to me?It states on there I have within 20 days to defend myself. And its states that i pay for the filing fee. Do I have to pay it?
- Welcome to our Newly Redesigned Website! Let us know how we are doing! Please take a couple of minutes to fill out our survey.
- Please select your county of residence below.
State Bar of Arizona
Maricopa County Bar
Referral number 602-257-4434
Pima County Bar
Referral number 520-623-4625
National Domestic Violence Hotline
Bankruptcy Court Self Help Center
Certified Legal Document Preparer Program