questions & answers
Question: I am filing a foreclosure on an agreement for sale because of non payment for 5 months. Do I need to send a letter of intent to foreclosure and wait 60 days before filing with the court?
Answer: You may file for foreclosure at any time there is a default. Arizona Revised Statute §33-808 states that a trustee shall give notice of an intent to sell. Notice can be given in one of four ways. It can be filed with the office of the recorder in the county where the trust property is located. It can also be posted on the property itself. Written notice detailing the time and place of the sale must be posted in a “conspicuous place on the trust property to be sold,” at least twenty days before the date of sale if it can be accomplished without a breach of peace. If posting the notice on the property would cause a breach of peace, then notice should be posted at any building that serves as a location of the superior court in the county where the trust property is to be sold. Notice can also be given by publication in a newspaper for four weeks or by responding to a request for a notice of sale. (A.R.S. 33-808(A) 1-4)
I am filing a foreclosure on an agreement for sale because of non payment for 5 months. Do I need to send a letter of intent to foreclosure and wait 60 days before filing with the court?
- Welcome to our Newly Redesigned Website! Let us know how we are doing! Please take a couple of minutes to fill out our survey.
- Please select your county of residence below.
State Bar of Arizona
Maricopa County Bar
Referral number 602-257-4434
Pima County Bar
Referral number 520-623-4625
National Domestic Violence Hotline
Bankruptcy Court Self Help Center
Certified Legal Document Preparer Program