General Housing Information

questions & answers

Question: We sold a home in Hereford AZ that is in an HOA. At closing we were charged $800 for a disclosure fee. The state statute allows a maximun of $400. We told the HOA this and they refused to let us close unless this was paid. The statute also states that the HOA could be fined up to a $1200 for this. Who can we complain to to get get this investigated?

Answer:

Arizona Revised Statute 33-1256 (Arizona Condominium Act) and 33-1807 (Arizona Planned Community Act) is the guide to HOAs in Arizona. I would definitely suggest speaking with an attorney who is familiar with HOAs regarding this.

QUESTIONS

  • We sold a home in Hereford AZ that is in an HOA. At closing we were charged $800 for a disclosure fee. The state statute allows a maximun of $400. We told the HOA this and they refused to let us close unless this was paid. The statute also states that the HOA could be fined up to a $1200 for this. Who can we complain to to get get this investigated?

STORIES

  • Age discrimination in the workplace. . .
  • He told me that I could actually get all the money I needed by using my home as collateral. . .
  • He told me that I could actually get all the money I needed by using my home as collateral. . .

LegalLEARN

YOUR FEEDBACK IS NEEDED

FIND LEGAL HELP

  • Please select your county of residence below.

    County:
     

OTHER LEGAL RESOURCES

  • State Bar of Arizona
    www.azbar.org
  • Maricopa County Bar
    www.maricopabar.org
    Referral number 602-257-4434
  • Pima County Bar
    www.pimacountybar.org
    Referral number 520-623-4625
  • National Domestic Violence Hotline
    800-799-7233
  • Bankruptcy Court Self Help Center
    866-553-0893
  • Certified Legal Document Preparer Program
    Link

ORGANIZATIONS