questions & answers
Question: I live with my parents and I’m 25 years old. I pay rent weekly without a lease. My dad is threatening to kick me out everyday. Can I just be kicked out?
Answer: Under Arizona law a rental agreement is any agreement “written, oral or implied by law” embodying the terms and conditions concerning the use and occupancy of a dwelling unit and premises (A.R.S. 33-1310). This means that a tenant does not need a written lease in order to have an enforceable right to use and occupy the premises. When a tenant has a week-to-week rental agreement, the landlord must give the tenant at least ten days advance written notice of the termination of that rental agreement (A.R.S. 33-1375).
I live with my parents and I’m 25 years old. I pay rent weekly without a lease. My dad is threatening to kick me out everyday. Can I just be kicked out?
- Let us know how we are doing! Please take a couple of minutes to fill out our survey.
- Please select your county of residence below.
State Bar of Arizona
Maricopa County Bar
Referral number 602-257-4434
Pima County Bar
Referral number 520-623-4625
National Domestic Violence Hotline
Bankruptcy Court Self Help Center
Certified Legal Document Preparer Program