questions & answers
Question: i am disabled 65 yr old male under eviction as a result of my dog biting a tresspasser. how much time in hours do ihave to remove my personal items during the 21 day time frame allotted me by the landlord before removal by said landlord?
Answer: The following is provided for education purposes only and should not be construed as legal advice. In order to determine how the law applies to your specific situation, please consider contacting an attorney directly. You may want to review the Arizona Residential Landlord and Tenant Act. A.R.S. § 33-1368, discusses abandonment. Under Arizona law, if the premises have been abandoned, the landlord cannot dispose of or sell any of the tenant’s personal property for 21 days. (A.R.S. §§ 33-1368E – 33-1370). A notice of abandonment must be sent to the last known address of the tenant in order to “declare” abandonment. According to A.R.S. § 33-1370, “After the landlord has retaken possession of the dwelling unit, the landlord may store the tenant's personal possessions in the unoccupied dwelling unit that was abandoned by the tenant, in any other available unit or any storage space owned by the landlord or off the premises if a dwelling unit or storage space is not available. The landlord shall notify the tenant of the location of the personal property in the same manner prescribed in subsection A of this section.”
i am disabled 65 yr old male under eviction as a result of my dog biting a tresspasser. how much time in hours do ihave to remove my personal items during the 21 day time frame allotted me by the landlord before removal by said landlord?
- Let us know how we are doing! Please take a couple of minutes to fill out our survey.
- Please select your county of residence below.
State Bar of Arizona
Maricopa County Bar
Referral number 602-257-4434
Pima County Bar
Referral number 520-623-4625
National Domestic Violence Hotline
Bankruptcy Court Self Help Center
Certified Legal Document Preparer Program