Eviction

questions & answers

Question: I am not on the lease but i have lived in my house for 2.5 years. I am behind on the a portion of my rent for march. My roommates have told me I need to be out in 48 hours because in the state of Arizona a sub-renter has no rights and only need 48 hour notice

Answer: There is no law in the state of Arizona that protects sub-renters who are not on the lease. The Arizona Landlord Tenant Act only protects tenants who have a binding lease with the landlord. You are essentially a guest to whoever is currently on the lease and they reserve the right to have you leave if they wish. When renting a home your name should always be on the lease, some landlords are able to do separate leasing for one home, this will ensure that you are protected and have rights as a tenant.

QUESTIONS

  • I am not on the lease but i have lived in my house for 2.5 years. I am behind on the a portion of my rent for march. My roommates have told me I need to be out in 48 hours because in the state of Arizona a sub-renter has no rights and only need 48 hour notice

STORIES

  • Age discrimination in the workplace. . .
  • He told me that I could actually get all the money I needed by using my home as collateral. . .
  • I just helped my mother, age 89, deal with her Medicare HMO. . .

LegalLEARN

YOUR FEEDBACK IS NEEDED

FIND LEGAL HELP

  • Please select your county of residence below.

    County:
     

OTHER LEGAL RESOURCES

  • State Bar of Arizona
    www.azbar.org
  • Maricopa County Bar
    www.maricopabar.org
    Referral number 602-257-4434
  • Pima County Bar
    www.pimacountybar.org
    Referral number 520-623-4625
  • National Domestic Violence Hotline
    800-799-7233
  • Bankruptcy Court Self Help Center
    866-553-0893
  • Certified Legal Document Preparer Program
    Link

ORGANIZATIONS