Parental Rights & Obligations

questions & answers

Question: Can cps keep my child I never new he was mine until he was 6 months old and was not with the mother she had him taken by cps when she deleivered him I didnt even no she was pregnant

Answer: In the Arizona Revised Statute: 25-812, “This state or the parent of a child born out of wedlock may establish the paternity of a child by filing one of the following with the clerk of the superior court, the department of economic security or the department of health services.” You can open a case to establish paternity and child support with the Voluntary Affidavit Acknowledging Paternity by DCSS through the Hospital Paternity Program (HPP) to establish paternity https://www.azdes.gov/main.aspx?menu=24&id=3777. For your specific situation, contact your local DCS and an attorney for more information.

QUESTIONS

  • Can cps keep my child I never new he was mine until he was 6 months old and was not with the mother she had him taken by cps when she deleivered him I didnt even no she was pregnant

STORIES

  • Age discrimination in the workplace. . .
  • He told me that I could actually get all the money I needed by using my home as collateral. . .
  • He told me that I could actually get all the money I needed by using my home as collateral. . .

LegalLEARN

YOUR FEEDBACK IS NEEDED

FIND LEGAL HELP

  • Please select your county of residence below.

    County:
     

OTHER LEGAL RESOURCES

  • State Bar of Arizona
    www.azbar.org
  • Maricopa County Bar
    www.maricopabar.org
    Referral number 602-257-4434
  • Pima County Bar
    www.pimacountybar.org
    Referral number 520-623-4625
  • National Domestic Violence Hotline
    800-799-7233
  • Bankruptcy Court Self Help Center
    866-553-0893
  • Certified Legal Document Preparer Program
    Link

ORGANIZATIONS