questions & answers
Question: I beat up an 18 year old and I'm 15, she's pressing charges what will happen to me?
Answer: First, Arizona Revised Statute (ARS) sets out when a juvenile can be charged as an adult. According to ARS 13-501, the County Attorney SHALL charge a juvenile 15, 16, or 17 years of age as an adult if he/she has committed one of the following crimes; 1st degree murder, 2nd degree murder, sexual assault, armed robbery, any other violent felony, any felony committed by a chronic felony offender, or any offense that is related to one of the offenses listed. http://www.azleg.gov/FormatDocument.asp?inDoc=/ars/13/00501.htm&Title=13&DocType=ARS
Now lets look at what you would likely be charged with...Assault ARS 13-1203. Assault; classification A. A person commits assault by: 1. Intentionally, knowingly or recklessly causing any physical injury to another person; or 2. Intentionally placing another person in reasonable apprehension of imminent physical injury; or 3. Knowingly touching another person with the intent to injure, insult or provoke such person. http://www.azleg.gov/FormatDocument.asp?inDoc=/ars/13/01203.htm&Title=13&DocType=ARS Assault ranges from a Class 1 misdemeanor to a Class 3 misdemeanor. Therefore, you case would most likely be handled by a Juvenile Court. This is based on the assumption the prosecutor decides to take the case. Juvenile courts try to rehabilitate rather than punish.
I beat up an 18 year old and I'm 15, she's pressing charges what will happen to me?
- Let us know how we are doing! Please take a couple of minutes to fill out our survey.
- Please select your county of residence below.
State Bar of Arizona
Maricopa County Bar
Referral number 602-257-4434
Pima County Bar
Referral number 520-623-4625
National Domestic Violence Hotline
Bankruptcy Court Self Help Center
Certified Legal Document Preparer Program