questions & answers
Question: How do I file for divorce when domestic violence is cause for the divorce?
Answer: Arizona is a no fault divorce state. Arizona Revised Statutes, Section 25-312. The only grounds for divorce is a statement that the marriage is irretrievably broken. While the domestic violence may impact some of the temporary orders, it does not affect the ability to file. You can find the forms you need and instructions on the court's website. Go to: https://www.azcourts.gov/selfservicecenter/Family-Law-Forms . You may also want to speak with an attorney regarding strategy and planning. There are three programs in Arizona that you can use to get inexpensive legal advice and guidance. One is the modest means program. You wil need to apply for the program and meet the financial qualifications. Once you are qualified, Modest Means will send you a list of attorneys whose practice covers your area of concern. You select a lawyer from the list and will be entitled to a one hour consultation for $75. If you need additional help and if the lawyer agrees to take your case, the most you will be charged is $75 per hour. The telephone number is (866) 637-5341. Both Maricopa and Pima Counties have lawyer referral programs that offer a 30 minute consult with an attorney. Maricopa County's Lawyer Referral Service offers its 30 minute consult with an experienced attorney for $40. The telephone number is (602) 257-4434. Pima County's Lawyer Referral Service offers a 30 minute attorney consult for $35. The telephone number is (520) 623-4625.
How do I file for divorce when domestic violence is cause for the divorce?
- Let us know how we are doing! Please take a couple of minutes to fill out our survey.
- Please select your county of residence below.
State Bar of Arizona
Maricopa County Bar
Referral number 602-257-4434
Pima County Bar
Referral number 520-623-4625
National Domestic Violence Hotline
Bankruptcy Court Self Help Center
Certified Legal Document Preparer Program