Paternity

questions & answers

Question: if your 14 and got pregnate by a 2 year old guys but you wanted to what happens?

Answer: In Arizona, statutory rape is prosecuted under the state’s sexual abuse and molestation laws, and is broken into several categories based on the age of the parties and the type of sexual contact that occurred, as described below. Sexual contact with a minor occurs when there is sexual intercourse or oral sexual contact between a minor who is 14 or younger, and a defendant of any age. It also includes intercourse or oral sexual contact between a minor who is 15, 16, or 17, and a defendant who is 19 or older (unless the defendant is still in high school), and at least two years older than the minor. Molestation of a child occurs when there is sexual contact without penetration (not including touching a female’s breast) between a minor who is 14 or younger and a defendant of any age. Penalties vary according to Arizona’s sentencing grid, and may include fines, prison time, or both. Increased penalties apply to offenders with prior convictions. (Az. Rev. Stat. § 13-1405, 13-1410, & 13-1404.) Defenses to a Statutory Rape Charge Statutory rape marital exception Arizona has a marital exemption for statutory rape that allows consensual sex between a married minor and that minor’s adult spouse, even though their ages would prohibit it if they were not married. Minors are legally incapable of giving consent to having sex; so for example, if Jen, a 15 year old willingly has sex with Tony, her 26 year old boyfriend, Tony can be charged with rape, since Jen is not legally capable of giving consent in the first place. But if Jen and Tony are married and living in Arizona, Tony need not fear criminal charges for having consensual sex with Jen. This is because Arizona has a marital exemption to the state’s statutory rape laws. However, if Tony were to rape Jen (force her to have sex against her will), he would have no protection under the law even if the two are married. (Az. Rev. Stat. § 13-1407.)

Question: if your 14 and got pregnate by a 2 year old guys but you wanted to what happens?

Answer: In Arizona, statutory rape is prosecuted under the state’s sexual abuse and molestation laws, and is broken into several categories based on the age of the parties and the type of sexual contact that occurred, as described below. Sexual contact with a minor occurs when there is sexual intercourse or oral sexual contact between a minor who is 14 or younger, and a defendant of any age. It also includes intercourse or oral sexual contact between a minor who is 15, 16, or 17, and a defendant who is 19 or older (unless the defendant is still in high school), and at least two years older than the minor. Molestation of a child occurs when there is sexual contact without penetration (not including touching a female’s breast) between a minor who is 14 or younger and a defendant of any age. Penalties vary according to Arizona’s sentencing grid, and may include fines, prison time, or both. Increased penalties apply to offenders with prior convictions. (Az. Rev. Stat. § 13-1405, 13-1410, & 13-1404.) Defenses to a Statutory Rape Charge Statutory rape marital exception Arizona has a marital exemption for statutory rape that allows consensual sex between a married minor and that minor’s adult spouse, even though their ages would prohibit it if they were not married. Minors are legally incapable of giving consent to having sex; so for example, if Jen, a 15 year old willingly has sex with Tony, her 26 year old boyfriend, Tony can be charged with rape, since Jen is not legally capable of giving consent in the first place. But if Jen and Tony are married and living in Arizona, Tony need not fear criminal charges for having consensual sex with Jen. This is because Arizona has a marital exemption to the state’s statutory rape laws. However, if Tony were to rape Jen (force her to have sex against her will), he would have no protection under the law even if the two are married. (Az. Rev. Stat. § 13-1407.)

QUESTIONS

  • if your 14 and got pregnate by a 2 year old guys but you wanted to what happens?
  • if your 14 and got pregnate by a 2 year old guys but you wanted to what happens?

STORIES

  • I just helped my mother, age 89, deal with her Medicare HMO. . .
  • I just helped my mother, age 89, deal with her Medicare HMO. . .
  • He told me that I could actually get all the money I needed by using my home as collateral. . .

LegalLEARN

YOUR FEEDBACK IS NEEDED

FIND LEGAL HELP

  • Please select your county of residence below.

    County:
     

OTHER LEGAL RESOURCES

  • State Bar of Arizona
    www.azbar.org
  • Maricopa County Bar
    www.maricopabar.org
    Referral number 602-257-4434
  • Pima County Bar
    www.pimacountybar.org
    Referral number 520-623-4625
  • National Domestic Violence Hotline
    800-799-7233
  • Bankruptcy Court Self Help Center
    866-553-0893
  • Certified Legal Document Preparer Program
    Link

ORGANIZATIONS