Other Family Issues Article


Arizona's Booster Seat Laws

Car and Booster Seat Laws

Arizona law requires all children under the age of five must be seated in a legally recognized child restraint system. A child restraint system is a general term for devices used in a vehicle to protect infants and children from being injured in an accident and includes items such as car seats, infant safety seats and booster seats. On August 2, 2012 Arizona expanded the law to include children up to eight years old who are shorter than four feet nine inches.

What is a legally recognized child restraint system?


The law defines a child restraint system, commonly referred to as a car or booster seat, as a device designed to be used in a motor vehicle or a plane to seat a child who weighs less than 66 pounds. This device is not merely a seat belt. This system may be an add-on, built-in, factory installed, rear facing, child restraint system or a booster seat.

Is there an age requirement?


Yes, children under five must be in a child restraint system. Children between five and eight must be in a child restraint system until they are taller than four feet nine inches.

My child is seven years old but is five feet tall, does he need a booster seat?

No. If a child is over five years old and is above the height requirement then the child does not need to be in a booster seat.

My child is 8 years old, but only four foot eight does he need a booster seat?


No. Only children under eight years old are required under the law to be in a child restraint system.

What happens if I am pulled over and do not have a child restraint system?

If an officer believes you have broken the law he will ask the driver the age and height of the child to determine if the law has been broken.

What happens if I break the law?

A person who breaks the law may be fined $50.

Are there any exceptions to receiving a fine?


A person may not have to pay the $50 fine if they prove, by a receipt sent to the court, that the car is later equipped with a child restraint system.

I need help installing my car seat is there any place I can go?

Many police and fire stations will inspect and show you how to properly install your car seat. For more information contact your local station or call the Child Safety Seat Hotline at 602-543-8687.

Are there any loaner or rental programs for car or booster seats?


Yes, there are several organizations and agencies where a person can rent a car or booster seat for little or no cost. Hospitals are even required by law to give out this information to new parents. If you are in need of a rental program contact your local hospital, or the Children are Priceless Passengers (C.A.P.P.) safety program for information.

Does this law apply to all vehicles?


No, certain vehicles are exempt from this law. A list of those vehicles can be found under A.R.S. 28-907(H) and under A.R.S. 28-907(B).

Where can I find the law?


The Arizona law or Arizona Revised Statues can be found on the Arizona State Legislature's page, www.azleg.gov . The child restraint system law is Arizona Revised Statute 28-907.

Comments:

QUESTIONS

  • mom passed away in 2014 she was attacked in her building in 2012 they failed to protect her lobby door always unlock can I file a lawsuit on her behalf even thought she has passed I had guardianship over her
  • My boyfriend owes almost $100,000 to the State of California. He is paying off the welfare that his ex wife was on. His paychecks are garnished and as of a few days ago his bank account was too. I was planning on joining the Navy in the spring and we wanted to get married. My question is: Will his child support debt transfer to me?Will they be able to garnish my wages and bank account? Will any of this be put on my credit score?
  • My sister has poa and is not looking out for moms best interest she stole her house and she is jealous of moms and my relationship mom has Alzheimer's and my sister had her sign the house over to her then put her in the nursing home I recently applied for guardianship I just want to be included in the depictions for mom well she sent me a hand written letter saying I could not dee my mom. Can she do that and can the nursing home stop me she tried getting a court order and the judge denied it. This request is not from a judge she wrote it. So I can I go see my mom?
  • What to do with an exwife that has not followed the judge orders on the separation of goods after the divorece was done. She is still taking money from my account,she has taken things from my home, how can I get her out of my life and make her return all the money and goods she has taken afte the divorce?
  • I am currently going through a divorce, where there is no custody established, and am pregnant. I have been put on strict bedrest. I am trying to move to Nevada where I will have more help from my older children's father and be able to be on bedrest like I'm supposed to. Would I be able to file a petition for relocation with a minor, and temporarily move before the 60 days, without getting in trouble for it. And will it effect how they decide custody. Also, I have a PO against the other parent, and there has been domestic violence toward me and the children during our marriage.
  • My mother died and my brother owed her money. There are notorized copies of the loan agreement. Can I collect on behalf of her estate?
  • I own a mobile home and my boyfriend lives with me. Can I evict him for domestic violence?
  • We have been divorce since Jul. 2009. We still lived in the house until Aug. 09 but I moved out due to her hostile. I decided to split our share, my 1/2 of the house (it was paid off by my father as a gift). I tried to get refinance-get the house-give her money 1/2 -and she was too BUT both of us fail to secure the loan we need. On 15 Oct. 09, I ask a realtor to sell our house so I can get my 1/2, her 1/2 but she repulsed to sign the sale auth and still live in it until now. What can I do to have her sign the sell, get my 1/2 and give her 1/2 so I move on?
  • can i move out at age 14?
  • My name is not on the lease and my ex-wife and I have lived there for fours years and now she is trying serve me with and eviction notice. I pay haif the rent and everything.

STORIES

LegalLEARN

FIND LEGAL HELP

  • Please select your county of residence below.

    County:
     

OTHER LEGAL RESOURCES

  • State Bar of Arizona
    www.azbar.org
  • Maricopa County Bar
    www.maricopabar.org
    Referral number 602-257-4434
  • Pima County Bar
    www.pimacountybar.org
    Referral number 520-623-4625
  • National Domestic Violence Hotline
    800-799-7233
  • Bankruptcy Court Self Help Center
    866-553-0893
  • Certified Legal Document Preparer Program
    Link

ORGANIZATIONS