Landlord and Tenant Rights and Responsibilities

questions & answers

Question: My landlord has not returned my security deposit. Next Monday will be 14 business days (AZ law) She is being shady and I have a feeling she has no intention of giving it back or my prorated rent for that matter. (It was a month to month lease but right after I gave my 30 days she found a new tenant so she owes me for 90% of the month as well) In her lease contract she wrote that she has 30 days to return deposit, however that goes against the state law. Will I have to wait 30 days or does State Law trump a lease contract?

Answer: Under the Arizona Residential Landlord and Tenant Act, a landlord has 14 business days, upon termination of a tenancy, to return the tenant’s security deposit (A.R.S. 33-1321). The fact that the lease that you signed provided for a 30-day period is an additional reason why you would be wise – after the 14th day has passed – to send by registered or certified mail or hand deliver to your former landlord (keeping a copy for yourself) a polite but formal signed and dated letter requesting the immediate return of your security deposit (and any other amount owed with an accompanying explanation) in accordance with Arizona law (“Chapter 33, Section 1321 of the Arizona Residential Landlord and Tenant Act”). Be sure to expressly provide her with a valid mailing address and other contact information. If she ignores your written request, and/or a check does not arrive at your mailing address within a reasonable period of time, you will probably want to consider other options (including, as a last resort, a civil claim against her).

Comments:

QUESTIONS

  • My landlord has not returned my security deposit. Next Monday will be 14 business days (AZ law) She is being shady and I have a feeling she has no intention of giving it back or my prorated rent for that matter. (It was a month to month lease but right after I gave my 30 days she found a new tenant so she owes me for 90% of the month as well) In her lease contract she wrote that she has 30 days to return deposit, however that goes against the state law. Will I have to wait 30 days or does State Law trump a lease contract?

STORIES

  • If you get a divorce, make sure your date of birth is on the Decree if your name is changing!. . .
  • He told me that I could actually get all the money I needed by using my home as collateral. . .
  • I just helped my mother, age 89, deal with her Medicare HMO. . .

LegalLEARN

YOUR FEEDBACK IS NEEDED

  • Welcome to our Newly Redesigned Website! Let us know how we are doing! Please take a couple of minutes to fill out our survey.

FIND LEGAL HELP

  • Please select your county of residence below.

    County:
     

OTHER LEGAL RESOURCES

  • State Bar of Arizona
    www.azbar.org
  • Maricopa County Bar
    www.maricopabar.org
    Referral number 602-257-4434
  • Pima County Bar
    www.pimacountybar.org
    Referral number 520-623-4625
  • National Domestic Violence Hotline
    800-799-7233
  • Bankruptcy Court Self Help Center
    866-553-0893
  • Certified Legal Document Preparer Program
    Link

ORGANIZATIONS