Landlord and Tenant Rights and Responsibilities

questions & answers

Question: Can I be charged $1400 deposit on a $600  a month apt. And she wants every dollar I make until paid off...I only make 400 a month plus my sons ssi and am having trouble paying electric.

Answer: According to Arizona Law, A.R.S. § 33-1321 A landlord shall not demand or receive security, however denominated, including, but not limited to, prepaid rent in an amount or value in excess of one and one-half month's rent. This subsection does not prohibit a tenant from voluntarily paying more than one and one-half month's rent in advance.

Comments:

QUESTIONS

  • Can I be charged $1400 deposit on a $600  a month apt. And she wants every dollar I make until paid off...I only make 400 a month plus my sons ssi and am having trouble paying electric.

STORIES

  • If you get a divorce, make sure your date of birth is on the Decree if your name is changing!. . .
  • Age discrimination in the workplace. . .
  • He told me that I could actually get all the money I needed by using my home as collateral. . .

LegalLEARN

YOUR FEEDBACK IS NEEDED

  • Welcome to our Newly Redesigned Website! Let us know how we are doing! Please take a couple of minutes to fill out our survey.

FIND LEGAL HELP

  • Please select your county of residence below.

    County:
     

OTHER LEGAL RESOURCES

  • State Bar of Arizona
    www.azbar.org
  • Maricopa County Bar
    www.maricopabar.org
    Referral number 602-257-4434
  • Pima County Bar
    www.pimacountybar.org
    Referral number 520-623-4625
  • National Domestic Violence Hotline
    800-799-7233
  • Bankruptcy Court Self Help Center
    866-553-0893
  • Certified Legal Document Preparer Program
    Link

ORGANIZATIONS