Criminal Law

questions & answers

Question: My boyfriend got arrested a few days ago in Phoenix for a supposed probation violation when he wasn't even on probation in the first place. The city of Scottsdale put a hold on him for an unpaid warrant from years ago for underage drinking and driving under the influence. The Phoenix jail said if I paid a bond of $50 dollars the charge of probation violation would be taken care of and then the city of Scottsdale would have 72 hours to pick him up or he'd be released. When I sent his mother to pay the $50 dollar bond they told her there was no $50 dollar bond and that the bond was $2,550 but that is what he owes the city of Scottsdale and they still haven't picked him up. Now they are telling him he is going to court AGAIN for the Phoenix charge and then after that they'll transfer him to Scottsdale to wait to go to court for those charges. I don't have a job or $2,550 dollars or anything worth nearly that much. I'm afraid he's going to end up being in jail PAST MY SCHEDULED C-SECTION. I'm due in 37 days. Any advice? Please help,.

Answer: What happens if I do not pay court fines? If you do not pay your financial obligation to the Court the following may occur: •Notification may be sent to MVD to place a suspension on your driving privileges •(If you are not licensed in Arizona, it may extend to the state in which you are licensed) •A hold may be placed on your vehicle registration that will not allow you to renew it •You may be referred to a collection agency (resulting in additional fees) •A warrant may be issued for your arrest. http://www.scottsdaleaz.gov/page1764.aspx Bonds and fines Bonds and fines may be paid at the Fourth Avenue Jail Bond & Fine room, located on the north side of the building. Once the bond is paid, it may take up to 48 hours for an inmate’s release to be processed. Please note: If an inmate has an Immigration hold or any other law enforcement agency hold, paying the bond will not release the inmate. If you have questions, you may call Sheriff’s Information Management Services (SIMS), at 602-876-0322, prior to paying a bond. •SIMS requires the person’s full name, •date of birth, and •if possible booking number •If the transaction is over $10,000, SSN must be provided per the IRS. Once a bond payment is accepted, there are NO REFUNDS. Acceptable means of payment are a Cashier’s Check, a U.S. Postal Money Order or a Western Union Money Order. These must be made out to the Maricopa County Sheriff’s Office. http://www.mcso.org/Multimedia/PDF/Information_Family.pdf  Initial Appearance Court (IA) is the first court appearance for someone arrested in Maricopa County. IA Court is located at the 4th Avenue Jail, 201 South 4th Avenue. IA Court is required by Arizona law to conduct hearings on persons arrested within a 24 hour time period from the time of arrest. Persons arrested are brought into the 4th Avenue Jail for booking into the Maricopa County Sheriff's Office jail management system. The docket is conducted every three hours 24 hours/7 days a week.https://www.superiorcourt.maricopa.gov/SuperiorCourt/CriminalDepartment/innovation All felony arrests, new charges, or people arrested on outstanding warrants in Maricopa County must be seen in IA Court. As well as people arrested from warrants issued by the 25 justice courts in the County, and new charges and warrants from 15 different city courts. https://www.superiorcourt.maricopa.gov/SuperiorCourt/CriminalDepartment/innovation

QUESTIONS

  • My boyfriend got arrested a few days ago in Phoenix for a supposed probation violation when he wasn't even on probation in the first place. The city of Scottsdale put a hold on him for an unpaid warrant from years ago for underage drinking and driving under the influence. The Phoenix jail said if I paid a bond of $50 dollars the charge of probation violation would be taken care of and then the city of Scottsdale would have 72 hours to pick him up or he'd be released. When I sent his mother to pay the $50 dollar bond they told her there was no $50 dollar bond and that the bond was $2,550 but that is what he owes the city of Scottsdale and they still haven't picked him up. Now they are telling him he is going to court AGAIN for the Phoenix charge and then after that they'll transfer him to Scottsdale to wait to go to court for those charges. I don't have a job or $2,550 dollars or anything worth nearly that much. I'm afraid he's going to end up being in jail PAST MY SCHEDULED C-SECTION. I'm due in 37 days. Any advice? Please help,.

STORIES

  • He told me that I could actually get all the money I needed by using my home as collateral. . .
  • I just helped my mother, age 89, deal with her Medicare HMO. . .
  • He told me that I could actually get all the money I needed by using my home as collateral. . .

LegalLEARN

YOUR FEEDBACK IS NEEDED

  • Welcome to our Newly Redesigned Website! Let us know how we are doing! Please take a couple of minutes to fill out our survey.

FIND LEGAL HELP

  • Please select your county of residence below.

    County:
     

OTHER LEGAL RESOURCES

  • State Bar of Arizona
    www.azbar.org
  • Maricopa County Bar
    www.maricopabar.org
    Referral number 602-257-4434
  • Pima County Bar
    www.pimacountybar.org
    Referral number 520-623-4625
  • National Domestic Violence Hotline
    800-799-7233
  • Bankruptcy Court Self Help Center
    866-553-0893
  • Certified Legal Document Preparer Program
    Link

ORGANIZATIONS