questions & answers
Question: I need a break from my mom we got in an argument. I know if I asked her to leave she wouldn't let me. I wrote her a note saying why I left and that I would be back tomorrow after I attend school. Meaning I will be gone less than 24 hours. If she calls the cops on me for leaving what is the worst they can do?
Answer: Not knowing how old you are, or why you feel the need to have a "break", please know that if you are a minor (under 18 years of age) your mom is responsible for you and what you do. This means she is responsible for your well being. You say you will attend school. If you do not attend school, she would be notified and asked where you are. She could report you as a runaway, which means if the police pick you up they may take you into custody without a court order or your permission. (http://www.americanbar.org/content/newsletter/publications/law_trends_news_practice_area_e_newsletter_home/runaway.html)
An "incorrigible" youth is one who is truant, runaway, refuses to obey a parent or guardian, violates curfew or smokes cigarettes. ARS § 8-201. A "delinquent" youth is one who, if he/she was an adult, could be charged with any crime listed in Title 13 of the Arizona Revised Statutes. ARS § 8-201. The Juvenile Court has delinquency jurisdiction over children and juveniles from age 8 until their 18th birthday. What is the worst they can do? They could pick you up for being incorrigible or delinquent and you may have to face a judge. he could sentence you to any number of things including a detention center, counseling, community service. You may want to speak with a counselor or someone you trust to help work thru issues you and your mom are having.
I need a break from my mom we got in an argument. I know if I asked her to leave she wouldn't let me. I wrote her a note saying why I left and that I would be back tomorrow after I attend school. Meaning I will be gone less than 24 hours. If she calls the cops on me for leaving what is the worst they can do?
- Welcome to our Newly Redesigned Website! Let us know how we are doing! Please take a couple of minutes to fill out our survey.
- Please select your county of residence below.
State Bar of Arizona
Maricopa County Bar
Referral number 602-257-4434
Pima County Bar
Referral number 520-623-4625
National Domestic Violence Hotline
Bankruptcy Court Self Help Center
Certified Legal Document Preparer Program