questions & answers
Question: In the state of Arizona can a parent/parents legally kick a 17 year old out?
According to A.R.S. § 25-511, parents must provide reasonable support to their children. A.R.S. § 13-3613 makes it a class 1 misdemeanor for any person to cause, encourage or contribute to the dependency or delinquency of a child. A.R.S. § 13-3612(3)(d) defines a dependent person in part as a person "who is found wandering and who does not have a home, or a settled place of abode, or a guardian or any visible means of subsistence." A delinquent person is defined through A.R.S. § 13-3612(2) as "any person under the age of eighteen years who violates a law of this state, or an ordinance of a county, city or town defining crime."
An incorrigible child as defined in A.R.S. § 8-201(16) means a child who:
(a) Is adjudicated as a child who refuses to obey the reasonable and proper orders or directions of a parent, guardian or custodian and who is beyond the control of that person.
(b) Is habitually truant from school as defined in section 15-803, subsection C.
(c) Is a runaway from the child's home or parent, guardian or custodian.
(d) Habitually behaves in such a manner as to injure or endanger the morals or health of self or others.
(e) Commits any act constituting an offense that can only be committed by a minor and that is not designated as a delinquent act.
(f) Fails to obey any lawful order of a court of competent jurisdiction given in a noncriminal action.
If a child meets the definition of an incorrigible child, a parent may choose to contact is or her local law enforcement agency.
In the state of Arizona can a parent/parents legally kick a 17 year old out?
- Please select your county of residence below.
State Bar of Arizona
Maricopa County Bar
Referral number 602-257-4434
Pima County Bar
Referral number 520-623-4625
National Domestic Violence Hotline
Bankruptcy Court Self Help Center
Certified Legal Document Preparer Program