questions & answers
Question: I just found out I am being sued for child support for a child that was born 16 years ago, can I sue the mother for not telling me about this child 16 years ago
Answer: There is important information lacking in your question. If you and the mother were married at the time, Arizona law automatically lists you as the father. If you were not married, did you sign an affidavit of paternity? Was a paternity action filed with DNA testing done? Were you served with papers in an action for child support? It would be in your best interest to talk face to face with a lawyer who can ask all the right questions and help you to understand your rights and obligations. There are 3 programs in Arizona that you can use to get some inexpensive legal advice and guidance. One is the Modest Means Program. For a $75.00 fee, the Modest Means Program will arrange a one hour consult with an experienced attorney. The telephone number is (866) 637-5341. Both the Maricopa County Bar Association and the Pima County Bar Association have lawyer referral services that offer a 30 minute consult with an experienced attorney. Maricopa County's Lawyer Referral Service offers a 30 minute consultation for a fee of $40.00. The telephone number is (602) 257-4434. Pima County's Lawyer Referral Service offers a 30 minute consultation for a fee of $35.00. The telephone number is (520) 623-4625.
I just found out I am being sued for child support for a child that was born 16 years ago, can I sue the mother for not telling me about this child 16 years ago
- Welcome to our Newly Redesigned Website! Let us know how we are doing! Please take a couple of minutes to fill out our survey.
- Please select your county of residence below.
State Bar of Arizona
Maricopa County Bar
Referral number 602-257-4434
Pima County Bar
Referral number 520-623-4625
National Domestic Violence Hotline
Bankruptcy Court Self Help Center
Certified Legal Document Preparer Program