Domestic Violence

questions & answers

Question: I have had my brother in law and his wife here at my residence that I am renting for seven months. They were told repeated times to start paying a specific amount of money a month and ignored my requests. They chose not to sign a written agreement and still refuse to pay. They are not on the lease either. I want to know if I have grounds to give them a 5 or 30 day notice to vacate. And if I can mail it, as they are staying with someone else for a couple months, or if I have to hand it to them personally. Thank you

Answer: Many questions can be answered by the Arizona Residential Landlord Tenant Act (the "Act") found here: http://www.maricopacountyattorney.org/pdfs/community/Residential-Landlord-Tenant-Act.pdf Since they are guests rather than tenants (no lease, never paid rent), you could arguably change the locks and inform them that they are not invited back. If you did that, you would need to give them written notice in order for them to remove their items. If you want to be cautious and treat them as tenants (which is likely a violation of your lease -- subleasing without written permission from landlord) -- check your lease), you could give them written notice. You would do so under A.R.S. 33-1368(B) (found in the link above). It requires 5 days notice in writing. You could send it to them where they are now. I'd send it certified and regular mail so you have proof of sending. If they fail to pay or to move out, you would technically need to file a special detainer action pursuant to A.R>S. 33-1377 to legally evict them. Please note that I am providing general information based on the limited information available to me. I am unable to provide specific legal advice, and this response does not create an attorney-client relationship. I wish you the best going forward.

Comments:

QUESTIONS

  • I have had my brother in law and his wife here at my residence that I am renting for seven months. They were told repeated times to start paying a specific amount of money a month and ignored my requests. They chose not to sign a written agreement and still refuse to pay. They are not on the lease either. I want to know if I have grounds to give them a 5 or 30 day notice to vacate. And if I can mail it, as they are staying with someone else for a couple months, or if I have to hand it to them personally. Thank you

STORIES

  • I just helped my mother, age 89, deal with her Medicare HMO. . .
  • If you get a divorce, make sure your date of birth is on the Decree if your name is changing!. . .
  • He told me that I could actually get all the money I needed by using my home as collateral. . .

LegalLEARN

YOUR FEEDBACK IS NEEDED

  • Welcome to our Newly Redesigned Website! Let us know how we are doing! Please take a couple of minutes to fill out our survey.

FIND LEGAL HELP

  • Please select your county of residence below.

    County:
     

OTHER LEGAL RESOURCES

  • State Bar of Arizona
    www.azbar.org
  • Maricopa County Bar
    www.maricopabar.org
    Referral number 602-257-4434
  • Pima County Bar
    www.pimacountybar.org
    Referral number 520-623-4625
  • National Domestic Violence Hotline
    800-799-7233
  • Bankruptcy Court Self Help Center
    866-553-0893
  • Certified Legal Document Preparer Program
    Link

ORGANIZATIONS