questions & answers
Question: I am a resident of AZ. My wife and I were married in AZ. My wife is a resident of Minnesota and has filed for divorce there. The laws of which state govern in the divorce settlement?
See our article titled "Divorce in Arizona." That article discusses the requirements of filing for divorce in Arizona. The article states:
When can I start a divorce case?
Before starting the court case, either the husband or wife must have lived in Arizona for at least 90 days or have been a member of the armed forces stationed in Arizona for at least 90 days. Unless Arizona was the last state where you lived together with your spouse, issues regarding custody of children may require a longer residence time in order to deal with those issues.
To see whether a divorce action can be filed in Minnesota, you may want to look at the Minnesota statutes governing divorce (listed as dissolution of marriage). To find the Minnesota statutes, you can look at the Minnesota Legislature's webpage.
I am a resident of AZ. My wife and I were married in AZ. My wife is a resident of Minnesota and has filed for divorce there. The laws of which state govern in the divorce settlement?
- Welcome to our Newly Redesigned Website! Let us know how we are doing! Please take a couple of minutes to fill out our survey.
- Please select your county of residence below.
State Bar of Arizona
Maricopa County Bar
Referral number 602-257-4434
Pima County Bar
Referral number 520-623-4625
National Domestic Violence Hotline
Bankruptcy Court Self Help Center
Certified Legal Document Preparer Program