questions & answers
Question: Is it Arizona law that neither parent with respect to a divorce, can not move more than 100 miles from the other if joint custody.....even if one parent is the primary parent?
Answer: Arizona Revised Statutes, section 25-408 states: " . . .at least forty-five days advance written notice shall be provided to the other parent before a parent may do either of the following: 1. Relocate the child outside the state; 2. Relocate the child more than one hundred miles within the state." If you plan to relocate more than 100 miles, you must comply with the statute. The statute goes on to say that the notice must be by certified mail, return receipt requested. The other parent then has the right to file a petition with the court to oppose the move.
Is it Arizona law that neither parent with respect to a divorce, can not move more than 100 miles from the other if joint custody.....even if one parent is the primary parent?
Free & Reduced Fees Legal Aid Resources
Click Here to apply online
- Welcome to our Newly Redesigned Website! Let us know how we are doing! Please take a couple of minutes to fill out our survey.
- Please select your county of residence below.
State Bar of Arizona
Maricopa County Bar
Referral number 602-257-4434
Pima County Bar
Referral number 520-623-4625
National Domestic Violence Hotline
Bankruptcy Court Self Help Center
Certified Legal Document Preparer Program