Arizona's Booster Seat LawsCar and Booster Seat Laws
Arizona law requires all children under the age of five must be seated in a legally recognized child restraint system. A child restraint system is a general term for devices used in a vehicle to protect infants and children from being injured in an accident and includes items such as car seats, infant safety seats and booster seats. On August 2, 2012 Arizona expanded the law to include children up to eight years old who are shorter than four feet nine inches.
What is a legally recognized child restraint system?
The law defines a child restraint system, commonly referred to as a car or booster seat, as a device designed to be used in a motor vehicle or a plane to seat a child who weighs less than 66 pounds. This device is not merely a seat belt. This system may be an add-on, built-in, factory installed, rear facing, child restraint system or a booster seat.
Is there an age requirement?
Yes, children under five must be in a child restraint system. Children between five and eight must be in a child restraint system until they are taller than four feet nine inches.
My child is seven years old but is five feet tall, does he need a booster seat?
No. If a child is over five years old and is above the height requirement then the child does not need to be in a booster seat.
My child is 8 years old, but only four foot eight does he need a booster seat?
No. Only children under eight years old are required under the law to be in a child restraint system.
What happens if I am pulled over and do not have a child restraint system?
If an officer believes you have broken the law he will ask the driver the age and height of the child to determine if the law has been broken.
What happens if I break the law?
A person who breaks the law may be fined $50.
Are there any exceptions to receiving a fine?
A person may not have to pay the $50 fine if they prove, by a receipt sent to the court, that the car is later equipped with a child restraint system.
I need help installing my car seat is there any place I can go?
Many police and fire stations will inspect and show you how to properly install your car seat. For more information contact your local station or call the Child Safety Seat Hotline at 602-543-8687.
Are there any loaner or rental programs for car or booster seats?
Yes, there are several organizations and agencies where a person can rent a car or booster seat for little or no cost. Hospitals are even required by law to give out this information to new parents. If you are in need of a rental program contact your local hospital, or the Children are Priceless Passengers (C.A.P.P.) safety program for information.
Does this law apply to all vehicles?
No, certain vehicles are exempt from this law. A list of those vehicles can be found under A.R.S. 28-907(H) and under A.R.S. 28-907(B).
Where can I find the law?
The Arizona law or Arizona Revised Statues can be found on the Arizona State Legislature's page, www.azleg.gov . The child restraint system law is Arizona Revised Statute 28-907.
if i ask my attorney for a mitigation packet to be done and she only looks at some of my background, and only prepares a deviation to present to the prosecutor,and he denies it, what can i do. i have already signed a 5 year plea, but im not happy with the representation of my counsel. what can i do to change my plea agreement, and get new counsel?
Why is a warrant being issued for a case I failed to pay the fines completely for 7 years after it happened
My ex husband's new wife has made a threat-" that if I ever go to Sierra Vista, she will have her first husbands , friends fron the pen, have me "taken care of"". Her first husband was a drug dealer who was murdered, so this is not something I take lightly. And my daughter hasnt seen her dad for over 2 years, because this woman was verbally abusive to her. She is also a convicted felon. Is this a felony crime? And can I be protected from her, or her thug lifestyle friends? I live in Tucson.
I was arrested an charged with assault. It was all based on a lie that my ex-gf told the police. My lawyer proved the lie and the charges were dropped. I spent 4 days in jail, lost my job, and spent over $10000 in legal fees. PPD won't go back and charge her. She has little money, but I want some justice. I was thinking about small claims court since I can do that on my own. Does that court handle pain and suffering claims?
do you help in criminal law i see that on the website you do but wwhen i went thru the interview process online i was told that you can not help.. please have been looking and asking for help everywhere
What is the difference between a superior court and a justice court?
I signed someone's name on a legal document with permission from this person. I was carged with forgery. I took a plea not wanting to go to a jury trial. After the plea I found out that the state attorney lied to the grand jury and said this person did not give me permission and also I forged her notes. I have her taped interview where she clearing states her given permission and that the notes were done by her. Is there anything I can do to go back to the grand jury or maybe have the charges reversed? I was told no matter what I signed her name with putting with permisssion
if i was convicted of a felony, managed to get it dropped to a misdomeaner and now i am trying to get rid of that, how and what the process of this?
I was on diversion, and finished the program but never paid the money, and basically jumped diversion what would be the best way to begin dealing with my warrant?
I got arrested on October 12 2014. I did not receive the summons to appear in court on November 19th. now I have two warrants out for my arrest if I turn myself in will I have to stay in jail or will I be released that day
- Welcome to our Newly Redesigned Website! Let us know how we are doing! Please take a couple of minutes to fill out our survey.
- Please select your county of residence below.
State Bar of Arizona
Maricopa County Bar
Referral number 602-257-4434
Pima County Bar
Referral number 520-623-4625
National Domestic Violence Hotline
Bankruptcy Court Self Help Center
Certified Legal Document Preparer Program